My ‘Preparation’ for NaNoWriMo 2016

It’s a bit early for National Novel Writing Month (which starts Nov. 1 until the 30th) but I can’t help but think about it. It’s 1.5k+ words a day just to finish on time. Plus, most of my social life during that month is next to nothing. I can’t read many books. I can’t any videos games. It’s a dark times ahead for me. BUT . . . I have made a different blog for NaNoWriMo 2016 and later this year, I’ll be linking it to my main blog. If you have noticed, I did change the layout and I added a page with NaNoWriMo 2014 and you can read all about how I didn’t finished my goal but ended up almost half way. I hope that this year I will be more successful because I won’t be attending graduate school until wayyyyy later. And I don’t have an excuse.

So, I have been working on getting my first novel published; the one I wrote almost five years ago and edited many, many times. I only bring this up because I have started to work on the second book. For the most part, I have the overall plot and subplots figured out. It can be tweaked a bit more but that’s not going to stop me from writing a few scenes.

We’re four months away from November (give or take) and I’m planning on sending out my query letters by the end of the summer. Hopefully, more of my beta readers have finished reading my story by then. Fingers crossed. Technically, I could start writing the second book during November but I think it would be better to seriously start writing the second book now.

It seems like my creative side and planning side are unbalanced at the moment. A part of me knows that if I don’t have some idea of where the story will go then, there are problems later on. Another part jut wants to write and not care about the little things. That can all be fixed through editing. Where do I draw the line? I don’t think I will be able to finish writing the second book any time soon. Perhaps I’ll get much of it done but knowing me, I’ll rewrite the same scene over and over again until I like it.

Or perhaps I’m over thinking this. Maybe all I need to just keep writing. Usually, inspiration hits when I’m writing. Right now, the only thing going for me is that I got time.

(Rants also help me come up with ideas.)

5 thoughts on “My ‘Preparation’ for NaNoWriMo 2016

  1. This is the right website for anyone who wants to find out
    about this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally
    would want to…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject that has been discussed for a long time.
    Excellent stuff, just wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

