Second Book Doubts

Now that I’m writing the second book of my Half-Blood Series, I have somehow reverted back to the first time I ever wrote. I feel like I don’t know what I am doing. For the most part, I have outlined and know the basic idea of where I want this story to go. Yet, every time I write a sentence or two, I want to erase it and start over again. Is this a common problem? Is it just my mentality?

Before I mentioned that I like to hand write my stories because it allows me to edit multiple times and I am able to get all my ideas on paper even if I have to write the same scene differently. However, one of the problems I’m facing is that I don’t know what to write. Is it safe to assume that this is plot problem? I’m not so sure. I think it has to do with the fact that I want the second book to be perfect. I’m not treating it like a book in and of itself. In my head, I’m treating it as part of a series – which it is – but I need to think about it as its own stand alone story.

I know all of this and yet, it hasn’t gotten any easier. It doesn’t help that I keep editing some other chapters and focusing on something else. It’s a vicious cycle that I have fallen in. I’m also sure that it’s 100% my fault. If I really think about it, I think I just want to create a perfect book which is completely unrealistic. Some part of my brain wants to create a masterpiece that doesn’t need to be edited or revised. Yeah, that’s not going to happen and yet here I am.

I keep coming back to this. What if I am not prepared? Not mentally of course. I meant that what if my plot isn’t constructed very well? Could the story actually be lacking? My doubts are just getting used as an excuse to not write. Honestly, I think it is a bit of both. It’s my mentality and my plotting could use a little work. I didn’t think I would say this but I think I need to not care.

So what if my scenes don’t go together at first? Or that my description and setting are lacking? I shouldn’t be afraid of going back to the drawing board or starting over. I have started over many times with other stories and this time it shouldn’t be any different. After all, the first draft should never be perfect. That’s why we have editing and revising.

Leave a Reply

