The Romantic Subplot

I will never be able to write a romance novel. It won’t be for the lack of trying but I don’t think that I can write it effectively. It involves deep characters, patience, planning, and so much more. I don’t mean to sound lazy but let’s just say that writing a romance novel is not in my near future. In part this has to do with the fact that I don’t think I can pull it off even with tons of revisions. 

While I’m not going to write about “how to write a successful subplot”, I will throw my two cents in. In my humble opinion, subplots need to add depth and complexity to a story. They’re like the crew in a play. They work behind the scenes to make everything run smoothly.

Romantic subplots . . . I do tend to have these in my stories. Well, not all of them. Sometimes, the story doesn’t need it so why force it? But when I do, I use the subplot to show more of my character (their reaction, what kind of a person they are); it all has a purpose. Sure, I have some cute interactions between the characters but that cannot distract from the main plot. Sure an antogonist can use a love one to advance the plot but that turns into a cliche (IMHO).

There’s need to be a moderation. I like creating a line table of my main plot and subplots to not only  keep track of them but also to have a plan of action and to see where the main and suplots intercept. Everyone has their own method of keeping track of things and planning out events. 

Romance as a subplot all depends on the type of writer you are and the kind of story you’re. I believe it’s all about balance and staying true to the story you want to write. 

Leave a Reply

